Join Today
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thats Mr. Cage to you

1996 Dodge Dakota - 50.00 Rustoleum Paint Job

Im more or less just reserving this thread right now for progress pics . .

I picked up a 1996 Dodge Dakota Sport (single cab) for 700.00. 151k miles, mechanically runs awesome, and the interior is really clean for the year . . . but the body is a little beat up and there is some dents and dings i have to pull out and bondo. NO rust whatsoever, except on the rear bumper which will be replaced with a roll pan.

Just for the hell of it. . . Im going to attempt to do all the body work myself using my garage and Harbor Freight el-cheapo tool sets. This is my first attempt at body work on a car. And ill be applying a Rustoleum paint job. I already have all the paint. . basically costed me 50.00 and some change.

Im giving myself 5-6 days for all the body work and prep. . so i should be ready to start shooting paint by next Fri or Sat.

wish me luck. . Ill post pics as soon as i get them loaded up from my camera

good luck man. Some of the honda-tech guys do the same 50 dollar paint jobs and I'm amazed at how good they actually come out.

get some pics up.
    2013 Honda Civic Si Sedan -- Daily
    1999 Honda Civic Si -- 6165 powered/H2B
    2008 Chevy Silverado -- Toy Hauler

ya i wanna see pix asap......

my dad and i have a 74 FJ40 that we are trying to restore that is taking forever because im so busy so i want to learn to do body work on my own....cuz im planning on slamming that thing into rocks big time and just pull em out, repaint cheaply and call it a day.

so ya post up progress stuff and tips and what not cuz im really interested on how it goes.
    97 4Runner 5spd - 3in Toytec suspension lift w/Pro Comp shocks. 2in body lift. 17in dick cepek dc-2. 33in Nitto Terra Graplers. 3in Cat-back. ISR Delete. HREW tubing Rock Sliders. Outdoor Logic front wench bumper

Thats Mr. Cage to you